Article last updated on the 13th of June, 2023.
Site maintenance refers to cleaning up entity sites which are not associated with any entities, because their associated entities has been deleted. When this happens, the site will be renamed to "Marked to be deleted", and will figure in the WorkPoint Entity Site Recycle Bin list. From here, the site can be deleted completely to clean up.
In this example, we select an entity with a site and delete it using the "Delete" button in the command bar:
- We select "Project Blue" in the "OnePro" module.
- Click the "Delete"-button.
The entity, along with the entity site will be deleted from the business module list in which it lived, however they have not yet been deleted entirely from the system.
The entity has now been placed in the recycle bin on the root site of the solution:
- On the root site of the solution, click "Recycle bin" in the Quick Navigation menu.
- In the Recycle Bin, we can now select the entity we previously deleted and click "Delete" once more. This moves the entity to the Second-stage recycle bin:
Note that entities can also be restored by clicking the "Restore" button.
- In the bottom of the Recycle Bin, click "Check the Second-stage recycle bin".
- In the Second-stage recycle bin, we can now select Project Blue again, and delete the entity entirely from the WorkPoint solution. Note that if an entity is deleted from the second-stage recycle bin, it can no longer be restored.
We have now deleted the entity entirely from the WorkPoint solution. The site that was associated with the entity, however, still needs to be deleted.
We can do this from the "WorkPoint Entity Site Recycle Bin" in the WorkPoint Administration:
- In the left side menu of the WorkPoint Administration, click "Entity Site Recycle Bin".
- In the Entity Site Recycle Bin, a list displays all the sites which have been marked for deletion. From here, you can delete individual sites by clicking "Delete" in the "Action" column.
- Alternatively, you can start an "Empty entity site recycle bin" job which deletes sites with the title "Marked to be deleted". You can use the options to scope the job to only target certain sites.
IMPORTANT: Please be advised that completely deleting sites and entities in this way, they will no longer be recoverable. Only delete sites and entities in this way if you are absolutely sure you no longer need them.
If the user instead clicks the "Delete site"-button, only the site is deleted, and the site will not show up in the "Site Maintenance"-page.
3. Restoring entities and sites
Entities that have been marked for deletion, but not yet deleted, can be restored from the recycle bin:
- On the root site of the WorkPoint 365 solution, click the cog-icon in the upper right corner of the page to access the SharePoint settings.
- Click the "Site contents"-menu item.
- On the "Site contents"-page, access the Recycle bin in the left side menu.
- Select the entity that was deleted previously.
- Click the "Restore"-button.
The entity, along with the entity site, will be restored.
Back in the Entity Site Recycle Bin page, the site can now have its 'deletion mark' removed:
- In the Site Maintenance page, click the "Remove deletion mark from site".
If one does wish to delete one or perhaps multiple sites from the list of sites marked for deletion, a job can be started to do this. This is referred to as 'site maintenance'. This job can also be set up to be run repeatedly and automatically with specified time intervals. You can read more about automatically scheduled site maintenance by visiting this link.