Follow

Email Manager Maintenance

Article last updated on the 24th of January 2020.

Contents

1. Introduction

For Email Manager, maintenance settings can be set up to automatically move items to and delete items from the recycle bin. These settings are explained in this article.

2. Configuration

Deletion of content in the Email Manager Recycle Bin can be configured from the WorkPoint Administration:

  1. From the WorkPoint Administration, expand the “Email Manager”-tab by clicking the header.
  2. Click the “Maintenance”-menu item.

 

  1. The “Refresh Cached Data (Mandatory)” job is always enabled and cannot be disabled.
  2. Retention refers to deletion of data from journals. The Retention function finds, through configurable rules, which email journals should have all email in the journal deleted. For configuration of these rules, see section 3.3.
  3. The “Move to recycle bin from archive” is a job which moves emails from the archive to the recycle bin. An email is understood to be in the Archive if it is not located in at least one journal. This function looks for if a date related to an email is further back in time than a given threshold. If it is, the email is moved from the archive to the recycle bin.

The date that this function looks at is:

  • Creation date (If the email is not restored from the recycle bin).
  • Recovery date (if the email was previously restored from the recycle bin).

The expiration date for this function can be configured in the field described in pt. 7.

Users with special privileges can view all content in the recycle bin, and from there restore emails to the archive.

IMPORTANT: If you change the settings for auto journalization you risk that many emails suddenly no longer are related to a journal and will therefore be located in the archive. They will therefore be affected by the “Move to recycle bin from Archive” function. Always be aware of settings that may impact other areas of the solution.

  1. The “Delete from recycle bin” function deletes emails from the recycle bin permanently. After this job is run, emails deleted by this job will no longer be recoverable.

This function looks for if a date related to an email is further back in time than a given threshold. If it is, the email is moved from the archive to the recycle bin.

The expiration date for this function can be configured in the field described in pt. 8.

  1. The “Move to recycle bin from Archive”-offset in days field determines the condition when emails affected by this job should be moved from the archive to the recycle bin. A value of 30 in this field means that if an email in the archive is 30 days older than either the “Creation date” or the “Restoration date” (depending on previous configuration), then the email will be moved from the archive to the recycle bin.
  2. The “Delete from recycle bin”-offset in days field determines the condition when emails affected by this job should deleted permanently from the recycle bin. A value of 30 in this field means that if an email in the archive is 30 days older than either the “Creation date” or the “Restoration date” (depending on previous configuration), then the email will be permanently deleted.
  3. Once the configuration is completed, click the “Save”-button to complete the configuration.
Have more questions? Submit a request