Follow

User Guide: User Disclaimer Notification

Contents

1. Introduction

In some cases, solutions need a disclaimer that external users need to consent to before they are granted access to the data they are trying to access. In some cases, companies might want these kinds of disclaimers to be consented to on each visit. In other cases, consenting just once is enough. Regardless, WorkPoint can now restrict access to entity sites until the users have consented to a disclaimer, which is presented to them when attempting to enter such rooms.

The consent that any given user gives to the disclaimer presented to them is logged. This makes it easy to see who have given consent and when, if needed.

A case where this feature is useful is if a company works frequently with documents which contain sensible data and/or otherwise data that under no circumstances can be shared with unauthorized people. They also often collaborate with external partners, and they therefore use this feature to present external partners with a disclaimer which lets the partners know that they must under no circumstances share documents with anyone outside the company. The consent that the partner gives is logged, so that relevant administrators can see if consent has been given, should any disputes rise.

2. End User Guide

When correctly set up, users will be presented with a window like this when trying to access a site for which a disclaimer has been created:

3. Notes

Please note that if the end users use any other clients that accesses data from SharePoint using API’s, they will not be blocked. The disclaimer is not adding any changes/extra layers to the security model of SharePoint. If the users are passing direct links to document or is using the sharing feature of SharePoint this feature will also be bypassed.

Have more questions? Submit a request