Article last updated on the 15th of December 2021.
When deleting sites from a site collection, they disappear from the list from where it was located. They do, however, still exist in SharePoint and are labeled as “Marked for deletion”.
The Site Maintenance page in WorkPoint displays a list of all sites that have been deleted and is currently labeled as “Marked for deletion”. Once site maintenance is performed, this list is cleared, and the site is permanently deleted.
Scheduled Site Maintenance makes it possible to define when the site maintenance job should run.
2. End User Guide
The scheduled site maintenance job runs in the background, and as such, the user does not have to trigger the job. It is, however, possible to run the scheduled job manually whenever needed. To do this, follow these steps:
1. In the “Scheduled Jobs”-page, click the “Edit”-button for the scheduled site maintenance job.
- The “Save”-button saves any changes made to the configuration of the scheduled job.
- The “Delete”-button deletes the job. The job will then no longer run.
- The “Run now”-button makes it possible to run the scheduled job manually now.
Please note that deletion of sites using site maintenance permanently deleted the site. After this point, the site is can no longer be restored.
Also note that scheduled site maintenance always run with default settings.
WorkPoint recommends scheduling this job to run once every 24 hours (once a day).