Follow

User Disclaimer Notification

Introduction

In some cases, solutions need a disclaimer that external users need to consent to before they are granted access to the data they are trying to access. In some cases, companies might want these kinds of disclaimers to be consented to on each visit. In other cases, consenting just once is enough. Regardless, WorkPoint can now restrict access to entity sites until the users have consented to a disclaimer, which is presented to them when attempting to enter such rooms.

The consent that any given user gives to the disclaimer presented to them is logged. This makes it easy to see who have given consent and when, if needed.

A case where this feature is useful is if a company works frequently with documents which contain sensible data and/or otherwise data that under no circumstances can be shared with unauthorized people. They also often collaborate with external partners, and they therefore use this feature to present external partners with a disclaimer which lets the partners know that they must under no circumstances share documents with anyone outside the company. The consent that the partner gives is logged, so that relevant administrators can see if consent has been given, should any disputes rise.

Requirements

This is an additional feature. If you want this feature for your solution, please contact WorkPoint Sales by email at sales@workpoint.dk for more information. Note that this feature is only available for solutions using the Modern UI, and only for the browser version of WorkPoint.

Configuration

User Disclaimer can be set up individually on each business modules. This is done through the WorkPoint 365 Administration, which can be accessed by following these steps:

  1. Click the Home button of the solution
  2. Enter the WorkPoint 365 Administration by clicking the cog-icon at the bottom of the menu

From the WorkPoint 365 Administration you can enter the Disclaimer Consent Settings by clicking the header of the business module for which you want to set up the settings for user disclaimers and clicking “Disclaimer Consent Settings from the menu. Follow these steps:

  1. Click the header of the business module
  2. Click “Disclaimer Consent Settings from the menu

The interface of the Disclaimer Consent Settings interface provides all the options one needs in order to set up what the users should be presented with upon visit. Depending on what you choose as “Type”, different options are available from there on.

 

  1. Check the “Enabled” checker if the user should consent to some agreement upon visiting the site
  2. Select a person or a group that should be presented with the disclaimer, and whom also needs to consent before access is granted.
  3. From the Acceptance Type menu, you can choose whether the target audience needs to consent to the agreement just once, or once per session.
  4. For “Type”, choose the type of setup you want to use for the disclaimer document. Depending on the type chosen, additional fields appear for the administrator to fill in (points 5 through 7)

a. Entity List

Entity List grant you the ability to select a document from the entity site based on field values. The system goes to the specified Library (5), you choose a field for the system to look for (6) and type in a value (7). If the system finds a document under a field which matches the value specified, that document will be displayed as the disclaimer document.

b. Calm Query

If you choose a type of Calm Query the administrator can input a query to be executed to fetch the document from a specified library.

c. Absolute URL

If “Absolute URL” is chosen, the administrator can insert a full URL to the document that he wishes should be displayed as the consent document. Further, the administrator needs to input the full URL to the site that holds the document.

  1. Clicking “Save” will finalize the setup, and the specified user(s) will now be presented with the specified consent document which will need to be consented to before they are granted access to the site.

Note that after setting up User Disclaimer, it is necessary to clear the WorkPoint 365 browser cache. You do this by clicking the Home side panel button then clicking “Need help?” at the bottom (1). You can now click “Clear WorkPoint 365 browser cache” (2), as seen in the image below:

End User Guide

When correctly set up, users will be presented with a window like this when trying to access a site for which a disclaimer has been created:

Notes

Please note that if the end users use any other clients that accesses data from SharePoint using API’s, they will not be blocked. The disclaimer is not adding any changes/extra layers to the security model of SharePoint. If the users are passing direct links to document or is using the sharing feature of SharePoint this feature will also be bypassed.

Have more questions? Submit a request