Follow

Scheduled Site Maintenance

1. Introduction

When deleting sites from a site collection, they disappear from the list from where it was located. They do, however, still exist in SharePoint and are labeled as “Marked for deletion”.

The Site Maintenance page in WorkPoint displays a list of all sites that have been deleted and is currently labeled as “Marked for deletion”. Once site maintenance is performed, this list is cleared, and the site is permanently deleted.

Scheduled Site Maintenance makes it possible to define when the site maintenance job should run.

2. Requirements

There are currently no requirements for utilizing this feature.

3. Configuration

In order to schedule site maintenance, follow these steps:

  1. From the WorkPoint Administration page, click the “Scheduled Jobs”-button in the side panel.
  1. From the Scheduled Jobs page, select “Schedule Site Maintenance”.
  1. The “Interval”-field works in collaboration with the “Frequency”-field to determine how often the job should run. An Interval-value of X along with a Frequency-value of “Hour” schedules the job to run every X hours.
  2. The “Frequency”-field determines, in collaboration with the “Interval”-field, how often the job runs. Read point 3 for an example. Available frequencies are:
    • Hour
    • Day
    • Week
    • Month
  3. The “Start date and time [DD/MM/YYYY HH:mm]” field determines when the schedule is set to begin. Using this field makes it possible to select an exact date and time for the configuration of the job to start. The job will then run as configured from that point on.

Please note that the date and time should follow the formula described in the name of the field. Alternatively, the date-and-time-picker ca be used to select a date and time.

  1. Once the configuration is finished, click the “Save”-button.
  1. The job should now appear in the list of scheduled jobs.

4. End User Guide

The scheduled site maintenance job runs in the background, and as such, the user does not have to trigger the job. It is, however, possible to run the scheduled job manually whenever needed. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. In the “Scheduled Jobs”-page, click the “Edit”-button for the scheduled site maintenance job.
  1. The “Save”-button saves any changes made to the configuration of the scheduled job.
  2. The “Delete”-button deletes the job. The job will then no longer run.
  3. The “Run now”-button makes it possible to run the scheduled job manually now.

5. Notes

Please note that deletion of sites using site maintenance permanently deleted the site. After this point, the site is can no longer be restored.

Also note that scheduled site maintenance always run with default settings.

6. GIF

Right-click the GIF below and select either;

  • "Open in new tab" (Google Chrome)
  • "View image" (Mozilla Firefox)

ScheduleSiteMaintenance.gif

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments