Article published on the 15th of February, 2022.
The contents of this article may be subject to change due to ongoing development of WorkPoint Automate.
The "Lock entity" step locks the selected entity. The entity can either be locked by record management or removal of add/edit/delete permissions on the entity. If locked using record management. all documents on the entity site will be iterated and declared as records. If locked by removing permissions, all add/edit/delete permissions will be removed from the web, lists and items related to the entity. This leaves only read-only access to the items.
A case where this action is useful is when a project goes into the Closed phase, and the entity no longer should be edited. It is important to note that if there is a chance that the entity needs to be re-opened, locking the entity should be done using record management, as that setting can be rolled back, effectively reopening the documents for editing. If locking the documents and items by removing the permissions to do add/edit and delete actions, these cannot be directly restored later by the Unlock action but are instead re-inherited from the current security settings by the entity.
The following image shows a process which includes the "Lock entity" step:
This process enables users to change the stage of an entity after which the entity is locked.
Step specific properties
Select the method of locking the entity.
Record: Use record management to lock the entity
Permissions: Remove all add/edit/delete permissions from the entity